FYI‎ > ‎

Common Core State Standards

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade. In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school. 

Since 2010, 45 states have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the standards to prepare students for success in college and the workplace. 

The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students are meeting the standards. 

Below you will find information about the standards and the CCSS-related activities taking place in California. For more information you can also go to:

Resources for Students, Parents, and Guardians

Information and resources about the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for students, parents, and guardians. 

Informational Handouts
Informational flyers providing overviews and highlights of the CCSS, available in multiple languages. 

CCSS and Parents and Guardians Handout

Available translations of the CCSS and Parents and Guardians handout (Updated 24-Jun-2013) 

K-8 California's Common Core Standards Parent Handbook
This handbook, created by the California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) in consultation with the California State Parent Teacher Association (PTA), gives parents an introduction to California's CCSS and a summary of what students are expected to learn as they advance from kindergarten through grade eight. This document has been translated into 17 languages. The handbook and translations may be found on the CCSESA Common Core Standards Communication Tools Web page under the General Overview Materials section. 

Grade Level Curriculum
The grade-level curriculum documents are organized by individual grade levels and include information about the CCSS. There are also archived webinars for the kindergarten through grade six documents which highlight the curriculum across the featured grade level with special focus on the CCSS. 

CCSS and Special Education
CCSS resources and guidelines for the special education community. 

Parents' Guide to Student Success
A guide, available in English and Spanish, for the CCSS in grades K-8 and two for grades 9-12 (one for English language arts/literacy and one for mathematics) created by the National PTA. The guide includes key items that children should be learning in each grade and activities parents can do at home to support their child's learning. 

Council of Great City Schools Parent Roadmaps
The Council of Great City Schools has developed parent roadmaps for understanding the ELA and mathematics CCSS in kindergarten through eighth grade. For each grade and subject, the roadmaps explain to parents what children will be learning and how parents can support learning outside of the classroom. 

Shifts for Students and Parents
EngageNY has created a practical guide that provides steps that parents can take to improve their child’s learning of the CCSS.

The Common Core State Standards 

What are the Common Core Standards? 

California's Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science and Technical Subjects (DOC; 3MB) 

Spanish Translation of California's Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science and Technical Subjects.

California's Common Core State Standards for Mathematics (DOC; 6MB)